Home

Buddhism

buddhism

Hello, my name is Citta and I’m a 35-year-old Buddhist monk from Cambodia. Since only monks can live in a few cities in the world, I have many monks around my area that share the same religion as I do.    I practice the branch of Buddhism, Thervada.  I follow the teachings of Siddhartha Gautama, also known as Buddha.  As a Buddhist, I believe that I will achieve Nirvana, which is the enlightened state in which I will be free from ignorance, greed, and suffering. Buddhists from all over the world, including myself, believe that Siddhartha Gautama (Buddha) achieved enlightenment beneath the Bodhi Tree in Godh Gaya, India; so many Buddhists around the world come here to search for their spiritual awakening.  A sacred symbol that defines Buddhism is the dharmachakra “the wheel of law.”  It signifies the overcoming of obstacles.  Each part of the wheel represents ideas from Buddhism.   The eight spokes represent the Eightfold path, which is the right view, right intention, right speech, right action, right livelihood, right effort, right mindfulness, and right concentration.  All of these are the central ideals for all Buddhists.  Another thing that signifies Buddhism is the sacred text.  In the past, the Buddha’s teachings were transmitted orally.  At first, the texts were written of palm leaves in the language, Pali.  Now, the collection of the Buddha’s text is the Tripitaka “three baskets.”  The main idea that I get out of following the words of the Buddha, is self enlightenment.  It gives you a sense of peace within yourself even though the world is full of hate and evil.  The main aspiration that I have being a Buddhist monk is to achieve Nirvana, as I mentioned earlier.  Eventually, I will achieve Nirvana and be free from ignorance, greed and suffering, just like Siddhartha Gautama did.

Works Cited

  • Boehm, Ph.D , Richard G. . “The Human World .” World Geography and Cultures . Columbus, Ohio : The McGraw-Hill Companies , 2012. 82-83. Print.
  • “Spiritually Ireland .” Spiritually Ireland . N.p., n.d. Web. 13 Jan. 2015. <spiritualityireland.org/blog/wp-content/uploads/2011/02/buddhism.jpg>.
2 thoughts on “Buddhism

  1. I really like your post. The whole passage is full of information that makes reader know the main things about this religion. The post has many details about the religion. However, I hope to find more personal ideas about the character himself. Besides, I really like this picture you found. I can learn many knowledge from this post. Nice job.:)

Leave a Reply

